Homepage BNL Home

Superconductivity and the Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1913
"for his investigations on the properties of matter at low temperatures which led, inter alia, to the production of liquid helium"
Heike Kamerlingh Onnes

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1972
"for their jointly developed theory of superconductivity, usually called the BCS-theory"
John Bardeen
Leon Neil Cooper
John Robert Schrieffer

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1973
"for [his] experimental discoveries regarding tunneling phenomena in ... superconductors"
Ivar Giaever
"for his theoretical predictions of the properties of a supercurrent through a tunnel barrier, in particular those phenomena which are generally known as the Josephson effects"
Brian David Josephson

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1987
"for their important break-through in the discovery of superconductivity in ceramic materials"
J. Georg Bednorz
K. Alexander Müller

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2003
"for pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors and superfluids"
Alexei A. Abrikosov
Vitaly L. Ginzburg
Anthony J. Leggett

Top of Page

Last Modified: Wednesday, 05-Mar-2008 09:32:20 EST